Thursday, 10 May 2012

Spiritualized - 9:30 Club, Washington, DC - 10th May 2012 - Watch Pro Shot Video + bootleg info

2012-05-10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 ClubLink- 39 min pro shot video

Live in Concert

Spiritualized In Concert

 • Rock 'n' roll is most often the stuff of youth and vitality — of desire, of frustration, of love and lust and other ephemeral concerns. Spiritualized singer Jason Pierce (a.k.a. J. Spaceman) knows his way around music's role in such hedonistic pursuits, but his work also reflects an acute understanding of mortality, loss and the desire to lean on a force greater than oneself.
Pierce almost died twice in the last seven years, once from double-pneumonia and once from degenerative liver disease which necessitated chemotherapy. He recorded Spiritualized's remarkable new record, Sweet Heart Sweet Light, while recovering from the latter, and its songs don't hesitate to leer into the abyss. Even as they swagger and seethe, they document a frail and flawed man's circuitous journey through self-inflicted agonies and righteous redemption, and back around to agony.
That said, a Spiritualized concert is the stuff of big-hearted, spaced-out, bliss-packed joy and celebration. Sweet Heart Sweet Light overtly pursues salvation through divine intervention — it doesn't take a careful parsing of lyrics to figure that out — so it's appropriate that Spiritualized in concert can convey the spirit of a revival show.
Set List
  • "Hey Jane"
  • "Lord Let It Rain On Me"
  • "Headin' for the Top Now"
  • "Walkin' with Jesus"
  • "Oh Baby"
  • "Rated X"
  • "Born Never Asked"
  • "Electric Mainline"
  • "Soul on Fire"
  • "I Am What I Am" *
  • "Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space" *
  • "Mary"
  • "Stay with Me" *
  • "So Long You Pretty Thing" *
  • "She Kissed Me (And It Felt Like a Hit)" *
  • "Come Together" *
  • "Cop Shoot Cop"
* featured video
Producers: Mito Habe-Evans and Robin Hilton; Audio engineer: Kevin Wait; Videographers: Claire O'Neill and John Rose; Production assistance: Michael Katzif and Dan Raby; Photos: Michael Katzif

from here


2012/05/10 - 930 Club; Washington DC, USA

Source: CA-14's (Cards) > Church Audio ST-9100 > Edirol R09-HR @ 24/96
Location: *STEALTH*
Editing: Tracking, fades, slight EQ, and normalization (each channel independently to -0.10dB) were done while the show was laid in Sony Soundforge 10.0a (Build 425) as a wav file.
Conversion: Trader's Little Helper v.2.7.0 (Build 172)

01. Intro 01:44
02. Hey Jane 10:25
03. Let It Rain On Me 04:15
04. Headin' For the Top Now 07:40
05. Walkin' with Jesus 06:26
06. Oh Baby 05:11
07. Rated X 06:15
08. Born Never Asked 02:41
09. Electric Mainline 06:33
10. Soul on Fire 04:01
11. I Am What I Am 05:32
12. Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in S...06:13
13. Mary 06:51
14. Stay With Me 07:30
15. She Kissed Me (And It Felt Like a Hit) 05:00
16. Come Together 13:23
17. So Long You Pretty Thing 09:12
18. Cop Shoot Cop 17:24


This was my first time seeing Spiritualized, and what's more is that they're a band with whom I am completely unfamiliar. I went on the recommendation of some friends and I'm glad I did! I met up an old show-going friend at the venue (shout-out to Jon!), and he was able to help me out with the setlist and tracknames. NPR was at the show and not only did they stream and archive a (lossy) copy of the audio from the performance, but there were also a few cameras onhand for them to stream a video of the show as well. I have not even bothered trying to sync the two recordings, mostly because of the degradation of audio integrity that would be associated with creating such a matrix. All the same, I'm quite pleased with the quality of my recording, so I hope you too are able to enjoy it just as-is!